Beetle Wing Gown: Beading the Organza

I had never done any kind of hand embroidering or beading before this project. I watched a lot of videos and read through tutorials on blogs to try to understand what supplies I needed to accomplish this new-to-me technique. As usual, after hours of research I dove in and ordered what I needed. I got all of my beading supplies from Fire Mountain Gems. I purchased several hanks of glass seed beads in a gold color. These were round beads with a square cut hole that was silver lined. I thought this would provide an interesting shimmer to them. I chose Nymo brand nylon thread — in a blue color that matched the organza — and also grabbed a variety pack of hand embroidery needles.

Once I had all my supplies, I did a practice round in an embroidery hoop. I wanted to make sure my technique would work both for the beads and the beetle wings. I also attached the beetle wings in two different directions to see what I liked best.

On the left, the beetle wings are pointing outward and on the right they point in. I ended up going with the orientation on the right. I also switched up the bottom row inside the teardrop. You can also see the thread lines on the back. I was hoping I could get away with using this method but I did not like how visible it was so I attached each beetle wing with a separate piece of thread on the final gown.

Now that I had it all settled, it was time to work on the real thing! Yay! First order of business was getting my skirt panels prepared. The organza was fairly narrow so my floor-length half-circle skirt would not be able to be cut in one piece. I could have done it in four panels but that would have left me with a center front seam, which I did not want, so I opted for five panels: one center front, two side, and two back.

I created my pattern pieces on paper first, then pinned them to the organza with a LOT of pins since it’s such a shifty material. I then used a silk thread to thread trace the entire panel. (Working with this large frame, I needed to use a rectangular piece of fabric so it could be stretched tightly. If I had cut the shape of the panel first, I would have had some very stretched out bias seams!) Then, I lightly traced the beading pattern onto the organza with pencil. Although the frame I used is made for tambour beading (where you work from the wrong side of the fabric), I just used it as a giant frame for regular beading, so my pattern was on the right side.

It’s difficult to see, but the silk thread is used in long stitches to mark the panel shape. This allowed me to easily see where to stop beading so I could sew my panels together.
You can see the thread better here that outlines the panel. I traced the beading design onto the organza with pencil. Since the tracing would be covered with the beading, I didn’t need to worry about using a marking tool that could wipe or wash away.

I cut wide margins around my panel tracings to accommodate the way they needed to be attached to the frame. I used Robert Haven’s YouTube videos to learn how to properly mount my fabric on the frame. You can view them here and part two here. You can watch me do it in hyperspeed below! Due to the width of my skirt panel, I had to leave some hanging over the edge and the frame was attached through part of the skirt corner at the hem. The tight weave of organza held up to it perfectly fine and I was able to use an iron with a tiny bit of steam to close up any holes left behind.

So now that my fabric was stretched on the frame, it was time for some fun! I used the Nymo thread, doubled in case one thread somehow broke, there was still another to keep the beads from falling off. I used a basic beading backstitch for all of the beading parts. On straighter sections I worked with 4-5 beads at a time and on curves only 2-3. This kept everything really secure!

My frame all set up and resting on the stand. The stand made it much easier to work, enabling me to work with one hand above and one hand below, rather than juggling holding the frame while trying to bead.
The beading is almost complete on this one!

Another time-lapse, this time of the beading.

Once the gold beads were all applied to a panel, it was time to add the beetle wings. As I said before, the thread would show through if I tried to use one long thread on the wings. So I had to add each one independently. At first I tried tying off the knots with the needle tying method but the nylon thread did not hold it well. I had to leave long tails and tie them off by hand. Tedious work but worth it to not lose by beetle wings everywhere!

The next sequence of photos shows how I securely attached each wing.

With beetle wing in place, bring the needle up from the bottom to mark the wing placement.
Lift off the beetle wing for now, bring the needle up through the fabric and pull the thread through until a ail of 2-3″ is left on the underside. Make a backstitch or two to lock in place.
Slide the wing back on the needle and down onto the fabric. Bring the first stitch down on one side of the base.
First stitch holding down one side.
Bring the needle up on the opposite side on the pointy end of the wing.
Bring the needle down through the hole in the pointy end of the wing.
The stitches are formed on opposite sides.
Bring the needle up on the opposite side of the pointy end of the wing and down through the same hole.
Repeat on the tip of the wing so there are now three stitches holding the wing tip in place.
Bring the needle up at the base of the wing, on the side that does not yet have a stitch. Come down through the hole, leave a tail, snip, and tie off. Repeat, repeat!

This was a lot of work but once I got into a rhythm it went by quickly. I only stitched the wings in place at first, then when an entire panel was complete, I would flip it over and tie off all the ends. Here’s a look at the back before tying off.

And after tying and trimming threads:

More importantly, let’s look at the front! You will notice that some areas are not fully complete. Despite the large frame size, some parts still did not quite fit in the frame. And I didn’t want to get too close to the seam allowances, to allow room for the presser foot to go by without crushing beads and wings that I worked so hard to attach! Those were completed after the skirt panels were joined.

Removed from the frame!

All of these steps were repeated for each of the five panels. I then joined them with French seams and later filled in the missing beads and beetle wings.

I had not yet filled in the missing pieces at the time of this photo. I still needed to join the back pieces!

The back of this skirt was also joined by French seams until it reached the bottom of where the zipper would be. There, the organza skirt would be open for the zipper to pass through. I didn’t want to attach it to the zipper and risk poofiness of the bum or tearing from the extra strain when sitting. So those seam allowances were turned under twice and I added small, clear plastic snaps to hold it closed when zipped.

Stay tuned for the next installment, working on the bodice!


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.